TheLocalsANovel

The Locals A Novel (Random House) [電子書籍版]
Jonathan Dee

2,695円(税込)

獲得ポイント:


初めての方限定!1冊無料クーポンプレゼント!
初めての方限定!1冊無料クーポンプレゼント!

紙書籍版も取り扱ってます!

楽天Kobo 電子書籍版 The Locals 2,695円
紙書籍版 The Locals 4,354円

商品基本情報

商品説明

**“Summons up a small American town at precisely the right moment in our history . . . a bold, vital, and view-expanding novel.”ーGeorge Saunders


A rural working-class New England town elects as its mayor a New York hedge fund millionaire in this inspired novel for our timesーfiction in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen and Jennifer Egan.**


A WASHINGTON POST NOTABLE BOOK


Mark Firth is a contractor and home restorer in Howland, Massachusetts, who feels opportunity passing his family by. After being swindled by a financial advisor, what future can Mark promise his wife, Karen, and their young daughter, Haley? He finds himself envying the wealthy weekenders in his community whose houses sit empty all winter.


Philip Hadi used to be one of these people. But in the nervous days after 9/11 he flees New York and hires Mark to turn his Howland home into a year-round “secure location” from which he can manage billions of dollars of other people’s money. The collision of these two men’s very different worldsーrural vs. urban, middle class vs. wealthyーis the engine of Jonathan Dee’s powerful new novel.


Inspired by Hadi, Mark looks around for a surefire investment: the mid-decade housing boom. Over Karen’s objections, and teaming up with his troubled brother, Gerry, Mark starts buying up local property with cheap debt. Then the town’s first selectman dies suddenly, and Hadi volunteers for office. He soon begins subtly transforming Howland in his imageーwith unexpected results for Mark and his extended family.


Here are the dramas of twenty-first-century Americaーrising inequality, working class decline, a new authoritarianismーplayed out in the classic setting of some of our greatest novels: the small town. The Locals is that rare work of fiction capable of capturing a fraught American moment in real time.


Praise for The Locals


“After 9/11, New York hedge fund billionaire Philip Hadi retreats to his summer home in the Berkshires. In thrall to his new town, he runs for office to keep it sleepy, sweet and free from tax hikes. Is he benevolent, arrogant or both? No one gets off the moral hook in this propulsive, brilliantly observed study.”**ー*People* (Book of the Week)**
?
“Thoughtful . . . [Jonathan Dee’s] prescient sensitivity has never been more unnerving. . . . Amid the heat of today’s vicious political climate, The Locals is a smoke alarm. Listen up.”**ーRon Charles, The Washington Post**

みんなのレビュー

この商品にはまだレビューがありません レビューを書く

紙書籍版のレビュー

この商品にはまだレビューがありません レビューを書く

楽天ブックスランキング情報

  • 週間ランキング

    ランキング情報がありません。

  • 日別ランキング

    ランキング情報がありません。

ご購入はこちらから

楽天Kobo電子書籍版

2,695円(税込)

お気に入りに追加
  • 電子書籍のお得なクーポン・キャンペーン

  • 人気コミックや最新の雑誌など!今すぐ読める無料作品をご紹介♪人気コミックや最新の雑誌など!今すぐ読める無料作品をご紹介♪
  • もっと見る
全品対象!
2017/11/6(月) 23:59まで
祝勝利!FCバルセロナ
エントリーで
ポイント2倍
全品対象!
2017/11/28(火) 23:59まで
800円以上購入で使える!
10%OFF
クーポン

最近チェックした商品

    ※表示を削除したい場合は閲覧履歴のページから削除お願いいたします

    ランキング:電子書籍

    ※1時間ごとに更新

    1. 1
      椿町ロンリープラネット 9
      電子書籍椿町ロンリープラネット 9

      やまもり三香

      410円(税込)

    2. 2
      宇宙兄弟
      電子書籍宇宙兄弟

      小山宙哉

      540円(税込)

    3. 3
      ダメな私に恋してくださいR 3
      電子書籍ダメな私に恋してくださいR 3

      中原アヤ

      430円(税込)

    4. 4
      コウノドリ
      電子書籍コウノドリ

      鈴ノ木ユウ

      540円(税込)

    5. 5
      僕に花のメランコリー 6
      電子書籍僕に花のメランコリー 6

      小森みっこ

      400円(税込)

    購入データ自動連携!楽天ブックス公式 無料 読書管理パプリ Readee

    関連する商品(紙書籍版)

    このページの先頭へ